Research Radartracking 1,762 published studies · 471 human · 11 safety signals · 58 clinical trials · 44 cancer pages · updated Sep 2026Open the Research Map →

← Melanoma

Melanoma: treatment map

Standard care plus compounds studied in the literature, organized by clinical readiness.

Educational only. This is not medical advice and not a recommendation. Confirm anything here with your oncology team.

Treatment map: Melanoma

Standard care plus every compound studied in the literature (each cited) and graded by evidence, organized by clinical readiness. A category, not a verdict that anything works — confirm anything here with your oncology team.

62
Interventions
0
Standard of care
39
Tested in people
1
Lab / animal
16
Named in lit.
7
Classes
Standard of care (0) Guideline option (6) Tested in people (39) Lab / animal only (1) Named in the literature (16)

Tested in people, by trial phase: phase not reported ×39

Clinical evidence
Preclinical evidence
Standard of care
Guideline option
Tested in people
Lab / animal only
Named in the literature
Surgery & procedures
—
—
6
—
5
Radiotherapy
—
—
3
—
1
Chemotherapy
—
—
1
1
1
Targeted therapy
—
—
8
—
6
Immunotherapy
—
6
18
—
2
Repurposed drugs
—
—
1
—
—
Other
—
—
2
—
1

Columns group into clinical evidence (used in, or tested on, people) and preclinical evidence (lab/animal, or only named in the literature). Cell = number of interventions; a dashed cell means none recorded there.

Established care — detail (6)
Immunotherapy
pembrolizumabRecurrent or later-line
FDA-approved for this cancer.
—Guideline option
pembrolizumabAdjuvant (after surgery)
FDA-approved for this cancer.
—Guideline option
pembrolizumabNeoadjuvant (before surgery)
FDA-approved for this cancer.
—Guideline option
pembrolizumabAdjuvant (after surgery) · BRAF wild-type cutaneous melanoma
FDA-approved for this cancer.
—Guideline option
pembrolizumabBRAF wild-type cutaneous melanoma
FDA-approved for this cancer.
—Guideline option
pembrolizumab
FDA-approved for this cancer.
—Guideline option
Investigational & adjunct compounds — detail (56)
Meta-analysis (39)
Anti-LAG-3 antibodiesAntibiotics + proton pump inhibitors (PPIs) + probioticsbeta-blockersbiopsycancer vaccine therapychemotherapydabrafenib + trametinib· Adjuvant (after surgery) · BRAF-mutantdabrafenib + trametinib· BRAF-mutantdabrafenib + trametinibdarovasertibeffector T-cellencorafenib + binimetinib· BRAF-mutantentinostatimmune checkpoint inhibitorsinterferon alfa· Adjuvant (after surgery)ipilimumabipilimumab + nivolumabipilimumab + nivolumab· BRAF wild-type cutaneous melanomaipilimumab + nivolumab· BRAF-mutantipilimumab or nivolumablabial reconstructionliver-directed regional therapiesMohs micrographic surgerymRNA-4157/V940 + pembrolizumabmultimodality treatmentnivolumab· Adjuvant (after surgery) · BRAF wild-type cutaneous melanomanivolumab· BRAF wild-type cutaneous melanomanivolumabnivolumab + ipilimumab· First-line (advanced disease)proton technique + intensity-modulated radiotherapyproton therapypucotenlimabselumetinib; trametinibstandard surgical excisionsurgerysystemic glucocorticoidstebentafusp· HLA-A*02:01tumor-infiltrating lymphocytesvemurafenib + cobimetinib· BRAF-mutant
Named in the literature
Conventional chemotherapynivolumab· Adjuvant (after surgery)nivolumab + ipilimumab· Adjuvant (after surgery)systemic medical treatmentexcision + 2 mm marginsentinel lymph node dissectionSentinel lymph node dissection (SLND/SLNB)Surgical excision (wide local excision)surgical excision + 1–2 cm marginsAdjuvant radiation· Adjuvant (after surgery)dabrafenib· BRAF V600 mutationsdabrafenib + trametinib· Adjuvant (after surgery) · BRAF-mutated melanomadabrafenib + trametinib· BRAF V600 mutationstrametinib· BRAF V600 mutationsvemurafenib· BRAF mutatedvemurafenib + cobimetinib· BRAF-mutated melanoma
Lab / animal only

"Tested in people" rows show the highest trial phase found in that compound's cited human studies (Phase I–IV; "phase not reported" = a human study with no phase tag). "Studied" = named in the cited literature for this cancer. "FDA ✓" = FDA-approved for this cancer; "off-label" = an FDA-approved drug used outside its approved indications (per openFDA). Not a claim that anything works.